No More Water, but…

noahs-ark-1b-1And God spake vnto Noah, and to his sonnes with him, saying; And I, behold, I establish my couenant with you, and with your seede after you:  And with euery liuing creature that is with you, of the fowle, of the cattell, and of euery beast of the earth with you, from all that goe out of the Arke, to euery beast of the earth.  And I wil establish my couenant with you, neither shal all flesh be cut off any more, by the waters of a flood, neither shall there any more be a flood to destroy the earth.  And God said, This is the token of the Couenant which I make betweene mee and you, and euery liuing creature that is with you, for perpetuall generations.  I doe set my bow in the cloud, and it shall be for a token of a couenant, betweene me and the earth.  And it shall come to passe, when I bring a cloud ouer the earth, that the bow shall be seene in the cloud.  And I will remember my couenant, which is betweene mee and you, and euery liuing creature of all flesh: and the waters shall no more become a flood to destroy all flesh.  And the bow shalbe in the cloud; and I will looke vpon it, that I may remember the euerlasting couenant betweene God and euery liuing creature, of all flesh that is vpon the earth.  And God said vnto Noah, This is the token of the couenant, which I haue established betweene mee and all flesh, that is vpon the earth.

I admit that I have a sympathetic ear to the environmentalists. in fact, I may be called an environmentalist, by some. I would call myself a conservative Christian, and I believe that God keeps his promises. I also admit that I am baffled by other Christians who claim to be conservative when they claim that hurricanes in the  American south, or floods in Brittan are a sign of God’s righteous judgment on our sinful nature or due to gay marriage. Didn’t God promise “no more water but fire next time,” or some thing to that effect?

It confuses me when a person who claims to be conservative is against those who are conservationists. Do not the words conservative and conservation have the same root? Are we not called to be stewards of God’s earth? Are there not Rogation Days on the Christian calendar? It is as ridiculous to claim that global climate change is the result of gay marriage or drunkenness and lascivious behavior as it is to say that  global warming is an invention of scientists that find only what they are looking for and that Earth Day is another brick in the stone wall of the liberal agenda and opposed to conservative Christianity. The creation story of Genesis it says: “And the LORD God tooke the man, and put him into the garden of Eden, to dresse it, and to keepe it.” In the Psalms, we read, “What is man, that thou art mindfull of him? and the sonne of man, that thou visitest him? For thou hast made him a little lower then the Angels; and hast crowned him with glory and honour. Thou madest him to haue dominion ouer the workes of thy hands; thou hast put all things vnder his feete. All sheepe and oxen, yea and the beasts of the field. The foule of the aire, and the fish of the sea, and whatsoeuer passeth through the paths of the seas. O Lord our Lord, how excellent is thy name in all the earth!” This keeping of the earth, this dominion over God’s creation, is not permission to waste, exploit or pollute it. It does not mean that we should fish all of the edible life from the sea.

It does not matter that the earth has cooled and heated. It does not matter that species have gone extinct whether by God’s design or through human intervention. What matters in these Rogation Days is that we commit ourselves to conserving what God has given us. It is not a question of “can we drill for oil; should we build a pipeline; is fracking a good idea?” but rather “what will conserve God’s creation; are we being good stewards?” It is a question of: Are you conservative, and just what will you conserve for your children?

Now enjoy some Paul Robeson:

Leave a Reply

