The Angel

The Angel  Songs of Innocence and of ExperienceThe Angel
William Blake

I Dreamt a Dream! what can it mean?
And that I was a maiden Queen;
Guarded by an Angel mild;
Witless woe, was ne’er beguil’d!

And I wept both night and day
And he wip’d my tears away
And I wept both day and night
And hid from him my hearts delight

So he took his wings and fled:
Then the morn blush’d rosy red;
I dried my tears & arm’d my fears,
With ten thousand shields and spears

Soon my Angel came again;
I was arm’d, he came in vain;
For the time of youth was fled
And grey hairs were on my head

That ends the bonus tracks from the electronic version of Baptism by Joan Baez and Peter Schicele. It’s taken most of the month to get through this spoken word album of poetry and prose, and it’s all been rather heavy. Let’s see if I can lighten the mood in the remaining days of National Poetry Month.

Leave a Reply

