Mystic Numbers: 36. Wedding Song

(c) Fairfax House; Supplied by The Public Catalogue FoundationBonus tracks!

Yes there are bonus tracks on the electronic version of Baptism by Joan Baez, so here’s the first of three.

Mystic Numbers: 36. Wedding Song
Henry Treece

You shall have roses my sweet
And a lantern to frighten the owl
And a nutmeg tree in the garden
And pears in a golden bowl
And I will but you a bird
With feathers as bright as blood
And a door with lock and key
For our lonely house in the wood

I’m really not sure of the line breaks or punctuation for this. I’ve been unable to find an electronic version of this poem, so if you can give me any corrections I would be quite happy.

Leave a Reply

