Poems From The Japanese

Poems From The JapaneseNight View of Matsuchiyama and the San'ya Canal
Kenneth Rexroth

AKAHITO

The mists rise over
The still pools at Asuka.
Memory does not
Pass away so easily.

When I went out
In the Spring meadows
To gather violets,
I enjoyed myself
So much that I stayed all night.

ANONYMOUS

Though the purity
Of the moonlight has silenced
both nightingale and
Cricket, the cuckoo alone
Sings all the white night.

KAKINOMOTO NO HITOMARO

I waited for my
Lover until I could hear
In the night the oars of the boat
Crossing the River of heaven.

BUNYA NO ASAYASU

In a gust of wind the white dew
On the autumn grass
Scatters like a broken necklace.

Leave a Reply

