Old Welsh Song

The Poor Poet Carl Spitzweg 1839I started off National Poetry Month yesterday with two April Fool’s Day rhymes, but I’ve been thinking of a format for National Poetry Month since last April, and I decided that I want to take a look at an album: not a book, an album.

Joan Baez recorded, what amounts to a spoken word album, Baptism, a collection of poetry and prose, sometimes set to music by Peter Schickele. The opening poem is called Old Welsh Song and attributed to Henry Treece, although I’ve not been able to find it among his works.

Old Welsh Song
Henry Treece

I take with me where I go
A pen and a golden bowl
Poet and beggar step in my shoes
Or a prince in a purple shawl

I bring with me when I return
To the house, that my father’s hands made
A crooning bird on a crystal bough
And oh, a sad, sad word

Leave a Reply

