Music in Lent?

The Temptation of ChristLast year I wrote about the hymn Glorious Things of Thee Are Spoken in one of my Music in Lent? posts. I wrote briefly about the author of the poem and my feelings for what is undoubtedly his most well known hymn Amazing Grace. Glorious Things is another hymn, like A Mighty Fortress, that one may not specifically align with Lent, but it is certainly appropriate. I found the lyrics included on the blog 40 Poems for Lent. It was posted for the Saturday in the 5th week of Lent.

The version I have in the Lent file of my music library is by the Mike Sammes Singers. They are probably one of the most prolific group of musicians ever. They worked with The Beatles, Tom Jones, and Disney among many others. They recorded jingles for commercials, and television theme songs. They also put out albums of music on their own. The one album I have is “Hymns A’ Swinging.” It’s the hippiest version of the Anglican hymnal that you’ll ever hear, and in addition to a swinging version of Glorious Things they also do 40 Days and 40 Nights.

Just in case you don’t like the Hayden tune for Glorious Things:

I think my brain is bleeding.

Leave a Reply

