Christmas Movies!

HolidayToday is the Feast of the Circumcision. (Think about it. It’s eight days after Christmas.) It’s also New Year’s Day in the secular west. There are two movies that I wanted to include in this series of Christmas Movies, but I’ve been unable to find trailers to post. I did think about not including them, but realized that one of them is one of my favorite movies of all time, and the other is the movie that started me on my “non traditional” Christmas movie list.Penney Serenade

Both of these movies have scenes on Christmas and New Year’s Eve.

Penny Serenade is the film that started me off “collecting” these Christmas movies. It is not what you mat first think of as a Christmas movie. In fact this melodrama makes one think that Cary Grant and Irene Dunne should probably not be together.

The other is Holiday, and I should probably write an entire post about how much and why I love this movie. Not only is it packed full of terrific actors (Cary Grant, Katharine Hepburn, Edward Everett Horton) but it is full of life even as my favorite character Ned, played by Lew Ayers, is trapped in a house of death. As far as being a Christmas movie it opens on Christmas Day and the action comes to a head on New Year’s eve. It’s perfect for watching in the week between Christmas and New Year’s

Like James Stewart, Cary Grant made a few films that I might consider Christmas movies. These two like, Bell Book and Candle, and After the Thin Man, are not necessarily the Christmas films that first come to mind, but unlike my refusal to list It’s a Wonderful Life, I will be listing the most obvious Cary Grant Christmas movie tomorrow.

Holiday Movie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

