It Was Christmas Eve, Babe

The Big Snowby Sarah SearsI mentioned the song Fairytale of New York in my very first post. It’s what I might call an Xmas song as opposed to a Christmas song, but it’s one of my favorites, and seems to be the song that’s defining this Christmas. It’s the one song that is on repeat in my internal soundtrack this year. It’s also the one song that few of my friendly acquaintances seem to be familiar with. I mentioned this to one of my friends and he forwarded on to me these articles about the song: Fairytale of New York: the story behind the Pogues’ classic Christmas anthem and 25 Things You Didn’t Know About ‘Fairytale of New York’. I did find one other person to sing a duet of this with me at a Christmas party last night, but it seemed to shock many of the people with whom I work. Well, it’s not the happiest of songs but there seems to be some sort of optimism even if there isn’t much hope for the couple in it.

The image above is an etching called The Big Snow by Sarah Sears.

Leave a Reply

