It’s Not About Me.

Through a glass, darkly

Worship is complicated nowadays. With the constant tug-of-war in “mainline” Protestant churches (Episcopal, Lutheran, Methodist, Baptist, etc.) between contemporary and liturgical (traditional) worship forms it’s easy to forget the purpose of Sunday morning services. First of all, why even discuss this at all? We should worship in a way that is spiritually filling to us, shouldn’t we? Isn’t that why we go to church, to be spiritually filled? I would argue that such a view of worship is not wholly true.

Many of you may know that I am Lutheran, and therefore I have grown up in a liturgical setting. (Liturgy, by the way, means “the work of the people”.) For a long time I didn’t even know there was any other way to “do” church. Recently, I have been exploring how to deepen my worship experience within the liturgy. The more I search, and the more I read, the…

View original post 300 more words

One thought on “It’s Not About Me.

  1. Pingback: Why Young People Leave the Church « Uncle Frog

Leave a Reply

