Music in Lent?

I’ve been trying to post Lenten music based on the reading from the previous Sunday, so I should be posting When I Survey the Wondrous Cross (this version by Bobby Horton) or some other song about the cross, or the brazen serpent, but I don’t know any songs about the brazen serpent.

However, I feel that the song Poor Wayfaring Stranger has a Lenten feel, even if it doesn’t quite relate to any specific Lenten reading. There is an air of the Lenten journey about it so I’m posting this:

I’ve posted before about my love for Jo Stafford, and it’s nice to hear Dusty Springfield mention Jo so kindly. Here’s a song by Jo Stafford and Gordon McCrae that fits into the Lenten/crucifixion theme: The Old Rugged Cross.

Leave a Reply

